Joys of Juicing

Cleanse, Food, Juicing, Uncategorized, Whole Eating

Veggies

Recently, I was encouraged to purchase a juicer which would allow me to get condensed amounts of nutrients and antioxidants from fruits and vegetables in a single glass of home made, freshly pressed, colorful and (usually) tasty juice. (Look on your local craigslist for a lightly used juicer if you don’t want to pay full price.) In order to take it a step further, I was challenged to do a juice fast during the same time as two of my close friends who were both committing to start January 4th for 30 days. A bit leary of the whole thing because of how juice can play so much with your blood sugars, I did some investigating. Two of my favorite health bloggers, Dr. Josh Axe and Dr. Ben Kim, are proponents of cleansing and detoxifying your body by juicing. This was enough encouragement to get me started, at least for doing 10 days of juicing.

In order to keep your blood sugars level fruits, carrots, and red beets should not make up more than one-third of the contents in your glass. Harder said than done, but definitely doable.

If your following a paleo lifestyle, a juice cleanse will probably be much easier to begin and maintain. Coming right off the Holidays and having eased up on my healthy eating routine, I decided to ease myself into the cleanse a day before. I began by cutting all caffeine, dairy products (at that time only cream from grass fed cows used in my coffee) and sugar. Thankful I did as I experienced a slight headache that afternoon into the evening due to cutting the caffeine out, which I knew would happen.

Day One

Having juiced the night before for breakfast and lunch, it was a breeze getting ready for work in the morning. Throwing a couple jars of juice and a bag of herbal tea into your lunch bag is as easy as 1-2-3.

*Breakfast – half a quart of a citrus based juice

* Lunch – quart of greens and beets (I made a bad combination that ended up tasting like dirt)

* Dinner – half a quart of green apple, orange, spinach, celery and ginger

Detox – other than craving actual food, my detox symptoms were mild. I was pretty cold throughout the entire day, partially due to the frigid temperatures outside, but also because when you cleanse your body isn’t working to digest foods which encourages heat production.

Day Two 

Again, I juiced my breakfast and lunch the night before, storing the juice in glass mason jars with the lids tightly screwed on and the jars filled to as close to the top as possible so that it would have less opportunity to oxidize.

*Breakfast – half a quart of  various greens, orange, romaine lettuce, ginger

* Lunch – half a quart of acorn squash, kale, apple, broccoli

* Dinner – half a quart of tomato, onion, cilantro, carrot, celery, kale, garlic + a half glass of apple, orange, celery, spinach

Detox – My body seemed to be warmer this day, which was a nice relief. I experienced a slight headache that evening and throughout the day I felt more hungry. Drinking water helped the hunger cravings go away.

(Because I don’t want to stop living life when I get together with other people, I drank half a bottle of kombucha while hanging out with a friend. You’ve gotta make it fit your lifestyle in order to be successful. Choose healthy *cheat* options)

Throughout the past couple of days I’ve reminded myself of these key thoughts: I’m doing this in order to have a healthier body that will allow me to live life more fully +Hunger isn’t bad, I won’t starve + All I have is from the Lord, I’m being a steward of my body and need to view this as an opportunity to give glory to the Lord by allowing me the resources to do this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

