Cherry Walnut Almond Flour Cookies

Food, Paleo, Paleo Treats, Primal, Whole Eating

   The cookies I am going to share with you today are a unique cross between a cookie and a biscuit in texture. I over baked mine just a tad, but they still came out delicious. Also, I made quite a few substitutions as well as decreased the amount of sweetener I used in them.  As far as substitutions go, because I didn’t have any dried cherries on hand, I rehydrated some dehydrated coconut instead and used that. Also,  I used almond extract instead of vanilla extract (made them soooo yummy and nutty flavored). I would definitely make them again….just hopefully next time I have some kind of dried fruit (cherry, apricot, raisin) to put in them.
Recipe
1 1/2 cups almond flour
1/4 cup butter softened
1/4 cup sugar (for a less sweet cookie, only fill the quarter cup measurer 3/4 of the way full. Also, a good sugar substitute would be coconut sugar)
1 egg
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup shredded coconut(rehydrated) or dried fruit of choice
1/3 cup chopped walnuts 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients together in a medium bowl. Spoon onto greased cookie sheet making medium sized balls. Bake for 8-10 minutes.
 
 

 

One thought on “Cherry Walnut Almond Flour Cookies

Leave a Reply

