Lamb and Mushroom Burgundy

Food, Paleo, Whole Eating

Wanting to make a recipe out of cookbook but not having the right ingredients can be frustrating, that’s why today’s post is my spin off of beef burgundy. The recipe I was looking at called for steak (uncooked) and I only had left over Easter dinner lamb. Also, rather than cooking the meat and sauce together, it required you to cook them separately and once plated, pour the sauce over the beef.

…I decided to mix it up…

The outcome was better than I could have hoped and I will be adding this to my list of go to recipes for future use! I hope you enjoy it as much as my family and I did.

Since my meat was already cooked, I decided to improvise and just cut up my left overs that could be heated in the sauce, allowing it to soak up some of the extra moisture there.

…First…

   I cut up all the ingredients needing to be diced : Shiitake mushrooms, lamb roast, shallots, thyme, garlic (minced)

1-IMG_1221

Washed and drained shiitake mushrooms

 

1-IMG_1230

Cubed mushrooms

1-IMG_1236

Chopped Thyme

 

…Second…

I heated up the olive oil in a cast iron skillet, sauteed the mushrooms and shallots together for about a minute. After that I added the garlic, sprinkled with salt and pepper and stirred.

Lamb, mushrooms, scallions, and garlic combined

Lamb, mushrooms, scallions, and garlic combined

 

 

…Last…

I added canned coconut milk/cream (about 3/4 of the cream on top and about 1/4 cup of the milk below), red wine,beef bullion, and thyme. I let it simmer for about 8 minutes and thickened the sauce with tapioca powder

Lamb Burgundy

Lamb Burgundy

 

I served ours with sweet potato fries. Would be delicious with cooked greens or a side salad.


Lamb Burgandy

2 1/2 cups shiitake mushrooms

1 pound of roast lamb

3 tablespoons minced shallots

2 cloves garlic minced

2-3 Tbsp Thyme minced

1/2 tsp beef bullion

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

1/2 cup Red wine

1/4 cup coconut cream (from can)

1/4 cup coconut juice (from can)

1 Tbsp Tapioca powder (if needed)

Leave a Reply

